Camborne School of Mines Student Society

21st Century History

small logo






  • Government matches funding for the Combined Universities in Cornwall.
  • Work starts on the Tremough Campus. Target completion date: September 2004.


  • Decision is made to merge CSM with the School of Geography and Archaeology, to form the School of Geography, Archeology and Earth Resources (SOGAER).
  • Keith Atkinson retires as Head of School, and takes the post of Provost of the University of Exeter in Cornwall.
  • Bob Pine takes the Headship of CSM.
  • Centenary anniversary of the first Bottle Match between Camborne School of Mines and Royal School of Mines.


  • SOGAER is formed on 1st October.
  • BSc Costal Zone Environmental Management established.
  • BSc Environmental Geoscience established.
  • BSc Renewable Energy established.
  • Sarah Gittoes becomes the first female Student President.


  • CSM says goodbye to the Pool Campus and Camborne By holding ‘The Last Blast’ Summer ball.
  • CSM moves to the Tremough Campus in Penryn.
  • Dan Parker become the first President of University of Exeter in Cornwall Students’ Union, leading an all CSM Student Executive alongside Falmouth College of Arts Students’ Union.


  • This website was made by the Camborne School of Mines Student Society.

About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us |